Tribal Council

As an independent, sovereign body, the Sycuan Tribal Council consists of seven officials democratically elected by the Sycuan General Council from the overall Sycuan membership. The officials of the Sycuan Tribal Council determine and administer laws, conditions and regulations for the benefit of the Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation.

  • Daniel J. Tucker


  • Ricci LaBrake

    Vice Chairman

  • Candelita Billingsly


  • LaShunna Davidson


  • Henry R. Murphy

    Council Member

  • Jamie LaBrake

    Council Member

It is the responsibility and goal of the Sycuan Tribal Council to oversee the business operations of Sycuan as well as to ensure the health, welfare and safety of not only its tribal members, but of the local and surrounding community.

Sycuan Band members must be over the age of 18 in order to run for office. Members serve a four-year term and all Sycuan members over the age of 18 are eligible to take part in the election process. The Spokesperson or Leader (Kwaypaay) of Sycuan is the Chairman or Chairwoman who also serves a four-year term. All decisions and/or laws with major implications for Sycuan as a whole are presented to the Sycuan General Council for final vote. The General Council consists of all Sycuan members over the age of 18.